Starring YOU for Nov. 22

  • Posted: 12/4/2012 5:39 PM
    6/1/2013 6:15 PM

SRNL researcher recognized by ACS

Dr. Chris Bannochie, a Savannah River National Laboratory researcher, has been named the winner of the E. Ann Nalley Award for Volunteer Service by the American Chemical Society (ACS) southeast region.

The award was established in 2006 by Dr. E. Ann Nalley to honor the volunteer efforts of individuals who contribute to the goals and objectives of the Society.

Bannochie's contributions include 20 years of service and mentoring activities within the Savannah River Local Section; 17 years of service as an ACS Councilor, where he currently serves as chair of the subcommittee on public policy for the ACS committee on science; past service as board chair of SERMACS, Inc. (Southeastern Regional Meeting of the American Chemical Society), where he was instrumental in developing a brand identity for the region and establishing and standardizing the Nalley Award across the Society.

USC Aiken names URS/SRR scholarships

Nine students have been named first year scholarship recipients of the URS/SRR Engineering Scholars program. Included among the recipients are two North Augusta students, Max Hall and Steven Coffey.

Other winners are Tamarra Anderson of Graniteville, Kendall Bell of Columbia, Cody Clester of Trenton, Jake Corbin of Beech Island, Nicole Holmes of Beech Island, Jackson Jones of Clearwater and Zachary Smith of Williston.

The program provided a $2,500 renewable scholarship each year for academically talented students that have declared engineering as entering freshmen.

The second year scholarship recipients continuing from last year are Lewis Arthur of Graniteville, Jason Barber of Aiken, Matthew Harvey of Wagener, Jordan Justus of Gaston, Ryan Michael Rafanan of Aiken, Keith Smith of Graniteville, Ryan Ward of Columbia, and Jonathan Kyzer of Gilbert.

The program will also coordinate with USC Columbia, allowing the students to retain the scholarship when they transfer from USCA to USC Columbia's College of Engineering and Computing if they maintain a high academic standard.

SHRM receives Pinnacle Award

CSRA Society of Human Resource Management (CSRA SHRM) won the Pinnacle Award, given by the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) to its affiliates who developed the most pioneering workforce programs. Created in 1991, the award is the highest achievement SHRM state councils and chapters can attain, and it honors programs that exceed the standard activities of SHRM affiliates in enhancing the creation of effective HR management. The CSRA SHRM chapter was one of nine human resource organizations from across the country to win the award. Winning programs were selected from 65 applications and received a $1,000 prize, sponsored by ADP Inc. SHRM presented the awards at its Leadership Conference held in National Harbor, MD.

The CSRA SHRM chapter partnered with the Augusta Judicial Circuit Drug Court to provide work readiness training to its participants nearing completion of the rehabilitation program. The Drug Court provides comprehensive treatment to substance abusers with the goal of improving public safety and decreasing the financial burden of drug addiction to the community. It is estimated the Drug Court program saves our community close to $2,000,000 annually. The CSRA SHRM chapter members trained participants through a series of Saturday workshops on resume writing, job search skills, interviewing techniques, networking and professional attire.